Skip to Main Content
Library
Research Guides
EMPOWER - Module 6 - Searching the Internet
Types of Search Engines
Search this Guide
Search
EMPOWER - Module 6 - Searching the Internet
Introduction
About the Internet
WWW Levels
Search Engines
Types of Search Engines
Predatory Journals
Search Strategies
Quiz
Conclusion
Types of Search Engines
Introduction
General
Metasearch
Academic
Specialized
Types of Search Engines
The following tabs introduce the most common types of search engines.
General
Search one broad database index:
Bing
(Microsoft) Includes search, chat, Microsoft Office, and AI image creation on one platform.
DuckDuckGo
Search engine and privacy-app owned and operated by a U.S.-based internet privacy company
Google
Very popular platform including search engine, maps, translator, AI text, and many other products
Qwant
Search engine owned and operated by a European-based internet privacy company
Metasearch
Search multiple database indexes at once:
Dogpile
Searches Google and Yahoo! with a single search
Info.com
Searches Google, Yahoo!, Ask, Bing, Yandex, and Open Directory
Academic
Search a database index of academic resources:
BASE
(Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) Searches an index of verified academic repositories
Google Scholar
Largest free academic search engine
CORE
(Open University and Jisc.) Searches 250 million+ open-source, full-text academic research papers
Specialized
Search a database index of specific file-types:
FindSounds
Searches for sound effects, music samples, and other short audio files
Openverse
Searches a database index of only open-source images, audio, and video
TinEye
Reverse image search engine allowing URL, upload, and image paste search options
<<
Previous:
Search Engines
Next:
Predatory Journals >>
Peru State College Library
600 Hoyt Street | Peru, NE | (402) 872-2311
