Citing Sources with MLA - Legacy EMPOWER 10

Articles are Usually Found in...

Journals

Magazines

Newspapers

Continue Reading to See Formatting and Examples of Citations for Each.

Journal Article Citations...

Library Database - With a DOI

• Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol. XX, no. XX, Date, pp. XX. Database Name, DOI.
  • i.e. Nasiruddin, Mary, et al. "Zombies: A Pop Culture Resource for Public Health Awareness." Emerging Infectious Diseases, vol. 19, no. 5, May 2013, pp. 809-13. EBSCOhost, https://10.3201/eid1905.AD1905.

Library Database - Without a DOI

• Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol. XX, no. XX, Date, pp. XX. Database Name, URL Location.
  • i.e. Chodorow, Adam. “Death and Taxes and Zombies.” Iowa Law Review, vol. 98, no. 3, March 2013, pp. 1207-31. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com.

Printed Journal

• Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol. XX, no. XX, Date, pp. XX.
  • i.e. Robert, Kirk. “The Inconceivability of Zombies.” Philosophical Studies, vol. 139, no. 1, May 2008, pp. 73-89.

Magazine Article Citations...

Library Database

• Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, vol. XX, no. XX, Date, pp. XX. Database Name, URL Location.
  • i.e. Grossman, Lev. “Zombies Are the New Vampires.” Time, vol. 173, no. 15, 20 Apr. 2009, p. 61. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com.

Printed Magazine

• Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Magazine Title, vol. XX, no. XX, Date, pp. XX.
  • i.e. Horan, Daniel P. “Faith, Hope and Zombies.” America, vol. 209, no. 4, 12 Aug. 2013, p. 31.

Newspaper Article Citations...

Library Database

• Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, vol. XX, no. XX, Date, pp. XX. Database Name, URL Location.
  • i.e. Phillips, Erica. E. "On College Campuses, Big Brains Turn the Tables and Feast on Zombies." The Wall Street Journal, vol. 263, no. 51, 4 Mar. 2014, p. A1+. ProQuest, search.proquest.com.

Printed Newspaper

• Author Surname, First Name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Date, pp. XX.
  • i.e. Hale, Mike. "Going Big with Zombies." The New York Times, 9 Oct. 2015, p. C1+.