Each Note should point the reader to a full Chicago citation in a Bibliography page at the end of your paper.
Remember these when formatting your Bibliography page:
A Chicago-style Bibliography Citation contains the same elements as a Note, but these elements are separated by periods, with a period also at the end of the citation.
In a Bibliography Citation, the Author's name is reversed, with the last name first:
Example:
O' Connor, Flannery. Wise Blood. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1990.
If there are multiple Authors, only the first Author's name is reversed. Subsequent Authors' names are written in the usual order, separated by commas and the word 'and'.
Example:
Weishaar, Mary Konya, and Victoria Groves Scott. Case Studies in Assessment of Students with Disabilities. Boston: Pearson, 2005.
In a Bibliography Citation, Titles are formatted the same as in a Note. All major words are capitalized, Titles of larger works are italicized, and Titles of smaller works are placed in "quotation marks".
Examples:
Book:
O' Connor, Flannery. Wise Blood. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 1990.
Article:
Stein, Sharon. "Universities Confronting Climate Change: Beyond Sustainable Development and Solutionism." Higher Education 87, no. 1 (Jan. 2024).
When citing edited or translated works, include the Editor or Translator after the Title preceded with “Edited by” or “Translated by.”
Examples:
Translated Work:
Dumas, Alexandre. The Count of Monte Cristo. Translated by David Coward. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
Edited Work:
Belknap, Johnny. "Building Blocks: Image." in Graphic Design for Everyone. Edited by Cath Caldwell, 93. New York: Penguin Random House, 2019.
In a Bibliography Citation, the Publication Details are not enclosed in parentheses. The City comes before a colon, followed by the Publisher's Name and then the Year of Publication, separated by a comma.
Example:
Eppel, John. Absent: The English Teacher. Avondale: Weaver Press, 2009.
Volume/Issue Numbers, followed by the Publication Date, appear the same as they do in a Note.
Example:
Authier, Gilles. "Ideophonic Verb Compounds in Archi." Linguistic Typology at the Crossroads 4, no. 1 (June 2024): 325.
Be sure to include a URL or DOI at the end of your Bibliography Citation when you reference a Journal Article you found online.
Example:
Vu, Trung V. "Individualism and Collective Responses to Climate Change." Land Economics 100, no. 2 (2024): 398-419. https://doi.org/10.3368/1e.100.2.121422-0103r1.
If a permanent URL or DOI is not available, include the name of the Library Database you used to find the Article.
Example:
"Talking Foreign Policy: 'Foreign Policy and Climate Change'." Case Western Reserve Journal of International Law 56, no. 1/2 (2024): 485-514. EBSCOhost.
If you are citing an entire Book, do not include Page Numbers in your Bibliography Citation. However, if you are citing a part of a larger work, like Journal Articles, Book Chapters, or individual Poems in an Anthology, be sure to include the first and last page numbers on which they appear.
For Book Chapters, the Page Numbers appear after the Title of the main Book Title.
Example:
Tonko, Paul. "Opening Statement." in Climate Change: Environmental and Economic Effects, 3-5. New York: SNOVA, 2021.
For Articles, the Page Numbers appear after the Date of Publication.
Example:
Ruzeviciute, Ruta and Carina Thürridl. "Food Matters: The Role of International (Marketing) Efforts in Addressing a Looming Climate Threat." Journal of International Marketing 31, no. 3 (Sept. 2023): 99-100.