History

(Library of Congress0 "African American Perspectives" gives a panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division.

(Wisconsin Historical Society) Travel along with famous explorers when you browse more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.

(Library of Congress) This online collection provides access to about 7,000 different views and portraits made during the American Civil War (1861-1865) and its immediate aftermath.

(Library of Congress) This exhibition demonstrates that many of the colonies that in 1776 became the United States of America were settled by men and women of deep religious convictions who in the seventeenth century crossed the Atlantic Ocean to practice their faith freely.

(Slave Voyages) The Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trade databases are the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world. The National Endowment for the Humanities was the principal sponsor of this work carried out originally at Emory Center for Digital Scholarship, the University of California at Irvine, and the University of California at Santa Cruz. The Hutchins Center of Harvard University has also provided support. The website is currently hosted at Rice University.

(Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum) FRANKLIN is a virtual research room and digital repository that provides free and open access to the digitized collections of the Roosevelt Library—to everyone, anywhere in the world.

(Library of Congress) The September 11, 2001 Web Archive preserves the web expressions of individuals, groups, the press and institutions in the United States and from around the world in the aftermath of the attacks in the United States on September 11, 2001.

The Shapell Manuscript Foundation is an independent educational organization dedicated to the research, collection, and exhibition of original manuscripts and historical documents.

(Library of Congress) The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of primary source materials associated with the Spanish-American War, including manuscripts, printed ephemera, films, newspaper articles, and maps.

(Library of Congress) The Veterans History Project preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may better understand the realities of war. Link forwards directly to records and accounts of WWI soldiers.