Resource
a source of information
Includes:
Anything that you, as a student, may use as you research for an assignment is a resource.
Resource. Authored by: Nick Youngson - link to - http://www.nyphotographic.com/ License: CC BY-SA 3.0
Book
printed words, bound together and protected by a cover
A single book usually only covers a single subject:
There are exceptions to this, notably encyclopedias However, the books you will find in the Peru State College Library’s building typically cover one subject.
When to use books:
eBook
a book which has been published digitally
While eBooks may be read on any type of device, those found in the Peru State College Library are most easily viewed on a PC
eBooks are very convenient to use for a variety of reasons:
Because of copyright, some eBooks may have limited or no:
Each eBook is different, so check the eBook you want to use to find out what restrictions it may have.
EReading devices.JPG. Authored by: Per Palmkvist Knudsen License: CC BY-SA 3.0
Books on Notenbohm Zaal.jpg. Authored by: Missmarettaphotography License: CC BY-SA 3.0
Magazine
a regularly printed periodical about topics that are interesting to average people. 
Topics include:
They are usually very easily recognized because of their easily understood vocabulary and attention-grabbing pictures.
Magazines are usually NOT appropriate to use as an academic resource:
These may be appropriate sources occasionally, depending on the assignment and topic you are researching. If you have questions about whether a specific magazine is a good resource choice, it is a good idea to ask your professor’s opinion.
Magazines. Authored by: Sean Winters License: CC BY-SA 2.0
Journal
a regularly printed periodical that is scholarly
Often Include:
Do NOT Often Include:
Many, but not all, journals are peer-reviewed.
Journals are excellent resources for academic research.
It is important, though, to use journal articles as examples in your papers rather than to rely on one or two articles for subject overviews. The authors of journal articles, after all, did not write the articles for students, but for other experts in their field. It is assumed that everyone reading the article already knows the basics of the subject area!
Most journals found in the Peru State College Library are eJournals, meaning that they are only found online.
Vitoria-University-Library-food-science-journals-4489.jpg Authored by: License: CC BY-SA 3.0
Newspaper
a regularly printed periodical focusing on current events and interests. 
Include:
Do NOT Include:
Newspapers are NOT typically good sources for academic research.
These may be appropriate sources occasionally, depending on the assignment and topic you are researching. If you have questions about whether a specific newspaper is a good resource choice, it is a good idea to ask your professor’s opinion.
Most newspapers found in the Peru State College Library are eNewspapers, meaning that they are only found online.
Person reading a newspaper (Unsplash).jpg Authored by: License: CC0
Scholarly Resource
an academic work based on original research and conclusions
Includes:
Examples:
Peer-Reviewed Resource
a scholarly source that has also passed through a peer-review process
Before a peer-reviewed source is published, it is critically read by other experts in the source’s field of study. If the other experts approve the source, it goes on to be published. Peer-review ensures that a scholarly work contains solid scholarship.
Most peer-reviewed sources are journal articles, and it is rare that a book/eBook is peer-reviewed. Many books and eBooks, however, are scholarly.
If you are not sure if you are able to use scholarly books/eBooks in your research, you should check with your professor.
Scholarly Barnstar.png Authored by: License: CC BY 4.0
Academic Databases
organized collections of digital resources
Include:
The Library subscribes to the databases, which were built by separate businesses, and provides you with access to them as a part of your tuition. The Library currently subscribes to approximately 100 different databases.
The databases you will search within for each assignment depends on:
This may seem difficult and confusing. However, the Library's Quick Search allows you to search many databases at once, potentially saving you a lot of time.
What is a database info graphic.png Authored by: License: CC BY-SA 4.0