Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion

For over 60 years The Arc of Nebraska has advocated for the rights and full participation of all children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

The mission of the Autism Society is to improve the lives of every family affected by autism. The focus of the Nebraska Affiliate is working locally and regionally throughout our Nebraska autism community.

Disability Rights Nebraska is the Protection and Advocacy system for people with disabilities in our state. We protect, support and promote the rights of people with disabilities.

(University of Massachusetts) The goal of this toolkit is to provide employees with an overall understanding of the disability community as well as how to be inclusive in day-to-day work activities, organizational planning and processes, and more.

People First is the only statewide disability rights organization in Nebraska run by and for people with all types of disabilities.

WAVE® is a suite of evaluation tools that helps authors make their web content more accessible to individuals with disabilities.

AARP is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that empowers people to choose how they live as they age.

(HHS.gov) OCR enforces the Age Discrimination Act of 1975 (Age Act), which prohibits discrimination on the basis of age in HHS-funded programs and activities. Under the Age Act, recipients may not exclude, deny, or limit services to, or otherwise discriminate against, persons on the basis of age.

(World Health Organization) WHO has been requested by its 194 Member States to establish a Global Campaign to Combat Ageism. The Campaign envisions a world for all ages and aims to turn this vision into reality by changing how we all think, feel and act towards age and ageing.

(University of Michigan) The National Poll on Healthy Aging (NPHA) is a recurring, nationally representative household survey.

Old School curates, creates, commissions and disseminates free resources to educate people about ageism and how to end it; hosts and facilitates spaces where age advocates around the world can connect; collaborates with other pro-aging organizations; and shows up for other social-justice movements.

(Lasell University - RoseMary B. Fuss Center for Research on Aging and Intergenerational Studies) Talk of Ages seeks to be a catalyst for changing this age-deprived state of education by offering college instructors resources for integrating aging content and intergenerational activities into their courses.

(Union of International Associations - The Encyclopedia of World Problems and Human Potential) Provides a broad overview of the term, as well as several synonyms, related problems, and problem-solving strategies.

(Maricopa Community Colleges - Open-source textbook) In this textbook we introduce cultural universals and culturally specific constructs in psychology. This textbook includes a section on Ethnocentrism and Cultural Relativism.

(Indiana University) Ethnocentrism can be defined as: making false assumptions about others' ways based on our own limited experience. The key word is assumptions, because we are usually not even aware that we are being ethnocentric... we don't understand that we don't understand.

(University of Minnesota - Immigrants in COVID America) This collection of news reports, perspectives, and other resources documents the rise of xenophobia and anti-Asian racism in the U.S. from late January 2020 to the end of March 2021.

(University of Michigan) Provides practical advice about how to contend with microaggressions and discrimination as well as how to be an ally to those experiencing those things. Outside links to other resources are also provided.

We are a nonpartisan research and policy institute that advances federal and state policies to help build a nation where everyone has the resources they need to thrive and share in the nation’s prosperity.

(University of Minnesota) Chapter 4 of 'Social Issues in the USA', an opensource textbook.

(University of Minnesota) Chapter 19 of 'Principles of Economics', an open-source textbook.

(American Psychological Association) The Socioeconomic Status (SES) Portfolio is responsible for directing, overseeing, facilitating and promoting psychology’s contribution to the understanding of SES and the lives and well-being of the poor.

(Frontiers in Sociology) This paper develops a framework for analyzing migration restriction regimes, and illustrates it with the case of U.S. immigration law and policy.

(The United States Department of Justice) The Immigrant and Employee Rights Section (IER), enforces the anti-discrimination provision of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).

(U.S. Department of Labor) Provides links to and brief explanations of various laws, executive orders, websites, and statutes that govern US labor policy as it applies to immigrants.

(United Nations) International migration has traditionally been discussed primarily in terms of its socio-economic costs and benefits. Increasingly, however, the human cost is coming into focus.

(Luxembourg Institute of Socio-Economic Research (LISER)) [We] study the impact of revealing implicit stereotypes to teachers by randomizing the timing of disclosure around the date on which they assign term grades. We focus on the Italian context, where mass immigration is relatively recent and politically salient, and we collect a unique dataset merging a survey...with administrative data on student outcomes.

(The University of Chicago) This paper provides an analysis of the discrimination faced by first-generation undocumented Latinx immigrants in the workplace. It outlines the different types of workplace discrimination and the factors that feed it.

(National Institutes of Health) The biomedical research enterprise is powered by people committed to scientific advancement and innovation to improve human health and reduce the burden of disease for all. NIH is committed to breaking down the barriers that prevent the full breadth of talent from contributing to the biomedical enterprise.

With more than 2 million members and 112 years of experience, we work to make sure Black voices are heard, demands are met, and Black excellence is amplified.

Race Forward catalyzes movement building for racial justice. In partnership with communities, organizations, and sectors, we build strategies to advance racial justice in our policies, institutions, and culture.

Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. It offers tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large.

(US News and World Report) Read the latest articles from this publication on the topic of racism.

United Nations Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner) UN Human Rights works to ensure the respect of freedom of religion or belief, the prohibition of incitement to religious hatred, and the celebration of diversity in society.

(U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission) Religious discrimination involves treating a person (an applicant or employee) unfavorably because of his or her religious beliefs.

(Pew Research Center) Provides access to up-to-date polling and findings on the topic of religious freedom and restrictions.

(U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission) This document addresses how Title VII applies to the religious dress and grooming practices of applicants and employees, including when and employer has a legal responsibility to make exceptions to its usual rules or preferences.

Our mission is to advance international freedom of religion or belief, by independently assessing and unflinchingly confronting threats to this fundamental right.

(United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) It is only through education that people of all ages can acquire the knowledge and skills to adapt to the changes that are affecting all of our societies. Girls’ and women’s education has the power to save lives, stimulating multiplier effects that reduce poverty, maternal and infant mortality, and early marriage.

(United Nations Human Rights Office of the High Commissioner) Despite much progress made in securing women’s rights globally, millions of women and girls continue to experience discrimination and violence, being denied of their equality, dignity and autonomy, and even a life.

(Planned Parenthood) Your gender identity is an important part of who you are. Learning more about gender identity can help you understand yourself and the people around you.

The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.

Transgender Law Center (TLC) is the largest national trans-led organization advocating for a world in which all people are free to define themselves and their futures. Grounded in legal expertise and committed to racial justice, TLC employs a variety of community-driven strategies to keep transgender and gender nonconforming people alive, thriving, and fighting for liberation.

The Asexual Visibility and Education Network (AVEN) was founded in 2001 with two distinct goals: creating public acceptance and discussion of asexuality and facilitating the growth of an asexual community.

Campus Pride represents the leading national nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization for student leaders and campus groups working to create a safer college environment for LGBTQ students.

Every day GLSEN works to ensure that LGBTQ students are able to learn and grow in a school environment free from bullying and harassment. Together, we can transform our nation’s K-12 schools into the safe and affirming environment all youth deserve.

(American Psychological Association) Sexual orientation is an often enduring pattern of emotional, romantic, and/or sexual attractions. It also refers to an individual’s sense of personal and social identity based on those attractions, related behaviors, and membership in a community of others who share those attractions and behaviors.

(Cornell University) We conducted a systematic literature review of all peer-reviewed articles published in English before October 2018 that assessed the effects of discrimination on the health of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people in the United States.